She

She lay in my arms
Quiet, whispering and thinking
Listening to the tune
Of the Pines outside
I saw the pain, the grief
The despair maybe from disappointment
Not sure of the future
I wonder, I search her
I look all about for a clue
Beautiful she is, just lonely
Wallowing in an unseen pain
How strange my attraction
Seeing her bossom rise and fall
Feeling the beat of her heart
And the unseen tears of the soul

She looked up then
Smiled, perhaps aware of my gaze
With no words she rose
Walking warily, painstakingly
Confused I followed her smile
And my gaze fell on her side again
Watching her leave, kicking
The door slowly with a moan

Then a crack of thoughts came
What manner of woman loves
Seeing the world torn apart
And peoples limbs blown up
Blood had become the color
Known to the world, death
War takes her children
And she can’t bear it again
The trees die, paper is made
Then the life we have slowly
Walks away from us…

Oiroegbu Halls

3 thoughts on “She

Leave a Reply

