A Love poem

Your words are sweet like honeycombs
Freshly taken from the bark of the trees
And melting in my lips, like butter on fire

Like the graceful wild deer you walk
And the soft sound of your foot walk
Beats strongly, the drums of my heart

The swift surge of the evening air
Compares not to your amazing smile
Your glittering teeth, splendor of my soul

You make me laugh out, happy
In my dreams I behold your face
When I wake, it is your smile I recall

Upon your face the sun rises
As like vale-lands hidden by the high hills
The dark is pushed away when you wake

The tuft on your hands like the reeds
That flourish by the side of the river
Dark is your skin, blessed is you

You are loved and admired
I am your biggest fan and friend
You are another Gods love to me

I was awake tonight of June
My hands shiver upon my papers
As I pencil down these words

Memories flood my big head
But I find it joyful to say few
I count myself very blessed

Oke’ Iroegbu

Leave a Reply

