A Psalm: To Jehovah, Ebenezer!

”I feel a power other than mine
I feel a strenght greater than me”

The strongest winds and storms
Tell of a might,
The beauty of His love
A testimony of grace!
He gave me a yam, alright!
Haha, he gave me a knife also
He gave me a fine dream

I worship His Majesty, – Kabiyesi!
I call Him, O gburu uzo n’ozara
The one who made roads on dunes
He made all with spoken words
He makes water storms in dry deserts
And men stare mouth ajar!

Wonder, wonder, holy, holy
I must say praise to You, Nissi!
Oh how awesome, how wonderful!
The day, the nights, you made hopeful
Ebube Dike, Dike na Dimkpa
Eze ndi Eze, the Lion of Judea!
I am so obsessed, what can I say
To You that cuts oceans into highways?
Awesome Jehovah- my song
You gave me a sweet hymn
One holy, of Trinity and solemn
My pride, my power- Chimbuikem
I command the rains, haha!
For you made me a commander!
He gave victory to a strengthless me
And I march to the gates of the enemy!
El-Shaddai I am forever grateful
Odum ebo Judae, Abum ihe mbu!
Only You are God
You got the whole world
In Your merciful hands,
Only You must reign

Commentary:
I am a christian, a methodist and a child of God. I am thankful to Jesus Christ for His undying love. This poetry is my lyrics for Him Who makes this poetry possible in me. The language used in the piece safe from English is Igbo and Yoruba. And below are the translations.

Translations:
Kabiyesi: The Yoruba word for praising or hailing a King
O gburu uzo n’ozara: Igbo for The One that made settlements on desert dunes or wastelands
Ebube Dike, Dike na Dimkpa: Igbo for The powerful One, The most powerful!
Eze ndi Eze: Igbo for King of Kings
Chimbuikem: Igbo for God is my strenght!
Odum ebo Judae, Abum ihe mbu: Igbo language for Lion of Judae, I am that I am

Leave a Reply

