The Brunel University International African
Poetry Prize is a major annual poetry prize
of £3000 aimed at the development,
celebration and promotion of poetry from
Africa. Now in its fourth year, this year the
Prize is sponsored by Brunel University and Commonwealth Writers. British-Nigerian writer, Bernardine Evaristo,
who is Professor of Creative Writing at
Brunel University London, initiated the award
in 2012. She describes her reasons for a new
prize devoted exclusively to African poetry: ‘I had judged several literary prizes
including chairing the Caine Prize for African
Writing in 2012, an award that continues to
revitalise the fortunes of fiction from Africa
since its inception in 1999. It became clear to
me that poetry from the continent could also do with a prize to draw attention to it and to
encourage a new generation of poets who
might one day become an international
presence. African poets are rarely published
in Britain. I hope this prize will introduce
exciting new poets to the world’s poetry editors.’ The Prize works closely with the African
Poetry Book Fund (APBF) and since its
inception, most of the poets who have been
nominated and/or won this award have
published chapbooks with the African Poetry
Book Fund series of ‘New Generation Chapbook Box Sets’. http:// The Prize is open to poets who were born in
Africa, or who are nationals of an African
country, or whose parents are African. It
is for ten poems exactly in order to
encourage serious poets. These poems may,
however, have already been published. Only poets who have not yet had a full-length
poetry book published are eligible. Poets
who have self-published poetry books or had
chapbooks and pamphlets published
are allowed to submit for this prize. For press, media and other professional
enquiries only, contact Bernardine Evaristo at (For the
submission email address see Rules.)